Visa Information

Here you can find useful information about who does and doesn’t need a visa to visit our beautiful country. 

Disclaimer: The information provided is to the best of our knowledge and it is subject to change with no previous notice. It is important that you always double-check the requirements with the nearest Panama consulate or embassy in your country before traveling. 

The nationals of the following countries do not need a tourist visa or tourist card: 

Denmark, Paraguay, The Vatican, Brazil, Cyprus, Egypt, Germany, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Chile, El Salvador, Spain, Finland, France, Guatemala, Holland (the Netherlands), Honduras, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Nicaragua, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Greece, Singapore, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey, and Uruguay.

The nationals of the following countries need Tourist Cards to enter Panama (not visa): 

Antigua & Barbuda, Curacao, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Aruba, Japan, Australia, Canada, Colombia, Mexico, Taiwan, Bahamas, Dominica, New Zealand, Thailand, Barbados, Grenada San Cristobal & Nevis, United States of America, Belize, Brazil, Ecuador, Greece, Korea (Rep), Malta, Monaco, Norway, Peru, Samoa, San Marino, Vatican City, Guyana, Saint Vincent & Grenadines, Bermuda, Saint Lucia, Venezuela.
Tourist card prices vary by nationality and it also depends on the place where you get it. Normally airlines sell it to you at the time of check-in prior to travel to Panama but you can also get it from travel agencies and in the Panama Airport at the time of arrival. A very standard price is USD 5 valid for 30 days. Longer validity tourist cards can also be obtained if necessary.   

The citizens of the following countries require a stamped tourist visa to enter Panama:

Russia, Chad, Philippines, Dominican Republic, and Thailand. 
This visa is a normal tourist visa and the processing time is from 2 to 3 days. 

The nationals of the following countries need an authorized visa:

Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Angola, Angola, Upper Volta, Saudi Arabia, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Burma, Bosnia Herzegovina, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Bhutan, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Comoros, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Croatia, Cuba, United Arab Emirates, Eritrea, Slovakia, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Haiti, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgastan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Laos, Lesotho, Lebanon, Latvia, Liberia, Libya, Lichtenstein, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Palestine, Qatar, Central African Republic, People’s Republic of China, Republic of Madagascar, Romania, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Syria, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tajikistan, Togo, Tonga, Tunis, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
This is a special kind of visa and the processing can take a long time, therefore it is recommended to apply with at least 3 months in advance.


Nationals of any country with a valid resident permit or visa from the United States (USA), United Kingdom (UK), Canada, Australia or European Union, which has been used at least once to enter those countries, DO NOT REQUIRE A VISA for a stay of up to 30 days in Panama.